top of page


Robbing Mary has been delighting crowds with their heartfelt, heartland music throughout the greater Cleveland area for more than a decade. The band has crafted a unique blend of Alternative Country, Americana, Roots Rock and good old Rock N' Roll. Beginning in 2004, with original members Dan Mills on Vocals and Guitar, Stephen Keefe on Bass, and Jen Vilimonovic on Violin and Vocals, the early version of RM assembled an eclectic collection of original material to share with audiences. As time went on they added Rom Cullers on Guitar and Vocals, David Drotos on Keyboard and Vocals, Scott Mehalko on Drums/Percussion and vocals, and most recently Pete Simon on guitar and steel. Together as a tight knit unit of seasoned musicians featuring dynamic harmonies, incredible musicianship and shared lead vocals between the band members, there is something for everyone at a Robbing Mary concert.  
In 2009, the band produced their first EP, Groveland.  Independently released, Groveland opened the doors and set the stage for what was to follow.  Robbing Mary released their full-length debut album El Otro Lado in 2011. El Otro Lado showcased a strength in songwriting that far surpasses what could be simply considered the work of a “local” band. This powerhouse record was successful in sparking interest in Robbing Mary and allowing the band to stand on stages near and far. El Otro Lado opened doors for Robbing Mary to garner a widespread fan base, and was followed by their 2015 album Electric, further demonstrating the talents of the band and its impact on the music scene in Cleveland. Recorded at the legendary SUMA Recording Studio, where such infamous bands as The Black Keys and Grand Funk Railroad recorded classic albums, Electric built upon the strong foundation that was laid on their past releases, while forging a strong new path into the future. 2019 saw the release of their most ambitious and creative offering yet, the self-titled 'Robbing Mary', recorded at Superior Sound and produced by the incomparable Jim Wirt who moved to Cleveland after a decade in LA where he produced albums for the likes of Hoobastank, Fiona Apple, Incubus, and Live. Available in both CD and album formats, the work encompasses a range of styles from classic Americana acoustic rock to groovy funk to 6/8 ballads and is filled with lush instrumental and vocal harmonies. Three years post, the band proudly released their fourth full-length album, Below the Fold, also recorded at Superior Sound and produced by Jim Wirt and Steve Keefe. Below the Fold represents an evolution for the band, incorporating additional styles including smokey blues, 70's retro pop and even a dash of samba(!) while keeping true to their Americana roots on the lion's share of the tunes. Lush vocal harmonies and sublime production quality are present from downbeat through the entire 11-song offering.
Robbing Mary has had the privilege of supporting some fantastic acts in their career, from opening for Marshall Crenshaw to sharing the stage with bands like the Blasters, Garland Jeffries, Sons of Bill, The FloorWalkers, Backyard Tire Fire and Carlos Jones, to name a few.  Robbing Mary has held its own, standing shoulder to shoulder with musical giants. The list of festivals and venues is far too numerous to include all, but just to name a few: Painesville Party in the Park – Ohio's largest free music festival, Burning River Fest, Twilight at the Zoo, Cain Park, Brew Ridge Festival, Charlottesville, VA, Roots of American Music Benefit, Beachland Ballroom and Tavern, Brother's Lounge, Wilbert's and Jacob's Pavilion.  Robbing Mary has also been featured on WJW FOX 8 Cleveland, WRUW 91.1 and Podcast and Blog. The press is also very much in Robbing Mary's corner. Bill Smith the executive producer and co-host of had this to say about the band, “this is a band that understands and appreciates the traditions of the past and strives to create authentic heartland music that is seldom heard these days.”

The Band:

Rom Cullers:  Lead Guitar, Vocals

Dave Drotos:  Organ, Piano, Vocals

Steve Keefe:  Bass, Electric & Acousitc Guitar, Banjo, Dobro

Scott Mehalko:  Drums, Percussion, Vocals

Dan Mills:  Vocals, Rhythm Guitar

Pete Simon:  Electric, Slide & Steel Guitars

Jennifer Vilimonovic:  Violin, Vocals




bottom of page